Misreading a Beautiful Friendship

About being a sucker for signs

James Ssekamatte
24 min readFeb 18, 2023
Photo by Harli Marten on Unsplash

It's 2019, and my very first time leaving the state of Tamil Nadu in 5 years. I'm supposed to travel 320 miles away to Irinjalakuda to meet my friend, Nivi.

I accept that I can't figure out how to avoid the invitation with my cheap promises this time. This is because Nivi has been studying the illusory nature of my visitation promises.

For about two years, she has (with varying degrees of subtlety) invited me to meet her family and friends. Each time, I have come up with a promise with no deadline.

"Hey James, you should visit me in Kerala. You'll love it there… also, my family and friends are excited to meet you [insert excited emoji]."

To which I reply.

"Sure, we shall make it happen soon. Oh, btw, I heard Calvin sir was looking for you. Have you seen him?"

Classic weaseling my way out of meeting her family. I don't even know where Calvin sir is — nor have I seen or talked to him in weeks.

I don't do visits. Especially when I like someone. Maybe it's because I'm scared of exposing my faults or because I go to great lengths to avoid getting too close to anyone.

--

--